We're Hiring! Full Stack Developer ×

Total beginner - questions about build for Unraid as storage-only

Hastor

Sorry if I should be posting this elsewhere. I have seen a lot of beginner guides etc. and build discussions, but nothing has led me to figure out where to start for the solution I'm going for. I've never used Unraid, but need something to put it on before I can.

I want to build a machine for Unraid, just for storage using a single drive for redundancy only - just a protected storage device. I'm currently using a Drobo, but they seem to have abandoned their consumer market, and this looks like a better solution. I want to move these drives over, and have room for expansion. It sounds like Unraid can do what I want, but the build discussions I've seen aren't going for the size I'm using. Currently my Drobo has 3x10TB and 2x16TB NAS drives, for a total of 41.6TB of storage, as one 16TB is reserved for redundancy. This appears to Windows via USB as an NTFS 64TB volume, but would give an error if I used more than the actual free space. It also has a 512GB SSD for additional cache, which I understand Unraid would support as well.

I'd like to start with this, and add/replace to increase further over time. I'm sure I can follow guides to install Unraid, but for this type of thing and amount of storage - what kind of CPU/RAM would I need? Any recommendations for cases that would hold the drives either internally, or in a separate enclosure without sacrificing speed? My Drobo acts as a USB drive, but it does sound like an Unraid machine would need to be NAS, which is totally fine with me. I just won't be able to use some USB devices with it directly. I'd like to go as small as possible while getting the most out of my drives and keeping them cool.

I understand I'll need to move the data off these drives and back onto them, as the discs would be reformatted.