First time UnRaid build: Ryzen 7000 build planning

rav101

Hi all,

I am new to UnRaid and planning out what will be my first build. I'm planning to use my build for the following purposes:

1) NAS server for file storage

2) Plex Server: Up to 4k stream with really 2 max streams at any time as it's mainly for myself but have given access to my brother and father

3) Home Assistant VM

4) Docker services like Radar, Sonar (I'm fairly new to docker so expecting max 4 or 5 services)

5) Main PC VM: I'm looking to combine my NAS / Plex Server with my main PC in one build. I switch between Windows and different Linux builds so might have a few VMs that I can switch between but would only really use one of them at a time.

Hardware on hand:

3 WD 8tb drives

1 Intel DC S3500 1.6tb SSD drive

1 SanDisk Ultra 3D 2tb SSD drive

1 SanDisk Ultra 3D 500gb SSD drive

I'm planning on building a new PC that can meet the above requirements whilst recycling the WD and Intel drives. I'm not fussed about using the SanDisk drives (they are currently in other PC's that wouldn't get much use after this build) but I have the option to if it makes sense.

I'm planning to build in a Corsair 7000D airflow case as it would have enough 3.5 inch drive bays with space to expand and the case would likely be in my office so I "want it to look nice".

I'm thinking of using the Ryzen 7000 equivalent of a 5800X so likely 8 core 16 thread CPU and we know Ryzen 7000 will have a small iGPU included. I'm looking at pairing this with the Radeon RX 7000 equivalent of the RX 6700.

I'm thinking with 16 threads, I would be able to have enough to have several threads dedicated to UnRaid, Docker (including Plex) and the Home Assistant VM whilst still having 10 to 12 threads for the "main PC". I would have the GPU passed through to the main PC when in use or otherwise not being utilised.