Personal Unraid

Hi,

I want to build a personal NAS for storage, plex, maybe a windows virtual machine for occasional usage, maybe nextcloud. Don't attack me i am quite new to the idea. I have read somethings but a need help with the build.

So my current future build is:

1. Fractal Design Node 804 Case

2. Intel Core i5-12400 12th Generation Desktop Processor

3. MSI MAG B660M Mortar DDR4 Motherboard Micro-ATX - has 6 SATA, 2.5 Gbe, 4 slots of RAM - not sure if it supports ECC RAM?

Is ECC RAM that crucial for such a build for home usage.

4. Samsung 980 250 GB PCIe 3.0 (up to 2900 MB/s) NVMe M.2 Internal Solid State 1 for system 1 for caching

5. Timetec Hynix IC 32 GB KIT (2 x 16 GB) DDR4 2400 MHz PC4-19200 Unbuffered ECC 1.2 V CL17 2Rx8 Dual Rank 288 Pin UDIMM Server Memory RAM Module Upgrade (32 GB KIT (2 x 16 GB)

or 

2x Memory DDR4 16GB PC3200 VENGEANCE LPX BLACK CMK16GX4M1E3200C16 CORSAIR MEMORY CORSAIR DDR4 16GB 1X16GB PC 3200 VENGEANCE LPX if ECC is not crucial. 

6. HDD will be WD Red plus - 4 HDDs 8 TB.

7. EVGA Supernova 650 GT, 80 Plus Gold 650 W (in order if a decide to put some dedicated GPU for some other reason.)

Questions.

1. Is the integrated iGPU in 12400 enough for 4k transcoding and playback of h264 and h265? Do i need a dedicated GPU.

2. I read there are some issues with the 12gen Intels, but i also read they are now addresed. Is this true.

3. ECC ram - is ECC ram that important? The data transfer will not be 24/7. The server will be addressed a couple of times a week.

4. Is 32 GB is enough for 32 TB storage. They will be upgradable to 64 if needed in the future.

5. SSD - 250 GB sticks for apps and 500gb for caching. Is this enough.

Have you put all those into pcpartpicker to make sure they are compatible?

Some answers