Another dumba$$ newbie

If I did this right you should be able to see my system specs, I hope. I needed a storage solution for sharing files at home with kids who are heavy gamers and some other files. I have xfinity with the highest tier services ( 1 gig unlimited). I have a 2.5 gig port on the router hooked to a 2.5 gig unmanaged switch with 2.5 adapters in all the computers on the network. I have been building computers for many years so I have knowledge and a slew of parts laying around. What I don't have is IT smarts. I do want to learn VM's. Any help at all would be appreciated.

Would like to:

Have a NAS

Have at least library for steam (3 user accounts) possible VM for steam

Plex style media server

Have windows backups for all computers

There is more I would like to do but just don't have the brains yet to figure some things out.

If I did not attach the right information file let me know so I can get the correct specs.

Currently all parity and formatting is done, tried to move a 470 gig music folder from my computer but is stuck in my cache drive (240 gig cache) so the transfer stopped 239 gig. Can you tell me what I did wrong?

myserver-diagnostics-20220827-0842.zip

Those diagnostics are without the array started, so can't tell anything about your user shares, and this problem

1 hour ago, Krackster said:

tried to move a 470 gig music folder from my computer but is stuck in my cache drive (240 gig cache) so the transfer stopped 239 gig

is all about your user shares.

So I won't be able to give more specific advice until you post new diagnostics with the array started.

Here is some general advice:

If you need to transfer more than cache can hold don't cache. It is impossible to move from fast cache to slow array as fast as you can write to cache.

Mover is the process which moves files from cache to array. Mover is intended for idle time, default schedule is daily in the middle of the night.