Rack: Thermaltake RC2300101A

HDD: HITACHI Deskstar 5K3000 x3

PSU: CORSAIR Builder Series CX430

RAM: Kingston 2GB 240-Pin DDR2

Cable: SATA2 Serial ATA II PCI-Express RAID Controller Card

Case:  Cooler Master CAC-T05-UW

Total Cost: $533

Hello all!

I'm a first time NAS builder and I have a couple questions for the experts.  First off, this build is basically the suggested budget tower with a few modifications because certain parts were sold out. So I'm sure this build will work, but I'm wondering if its optimal.

Currently the Rack and HDDs are 6gb/s capable, but the Mobo/Cable isn't.  Is it worth is to upgrade the Mobo/Cable to try and use that extra speed?  If so which one? Also should I add something for a cache drive?  I will be using this NAS for mostly media, and have it at as a server for certain python based programs. Also I would like to use it as a Plex media server once that is stable.  Should I then upgrade the CPU?

Sorry for all the questions, every time I seem to try and build a system I screw up somehow.

Thank you!

P.S. I'm starting out with just one Rack and 3 HDDs just to save money as I don't think I'll fill 4Tb very quickly.

Edit: Forgot cable

Currently the Rack and HDDs are 6gb/s capable, but the Mobo isn't.  Is it worth is to upgrade the Mobo to try and use that extra speed?

No, do not worry about it.  Most modern non SSD drives barely saturate SATA 1 speeds.

If so which one? Also should I add something for a cache drive?  I will be using this NAS for mostly media, and have it at as a server for certain python based programs. Also I would like to use it as a Plex media server once that is stable.  Should I then upgrade the CPU?

If you plan to eventually run Plex then a CPU upgrade would be in order, and if you want to run other apps besides just unRAID then a cache drive is probably a good idea.