I need some direction with VPN

CJC

Hey,

I’ve been running an Unraid server for about 6 months now and I’m loving it. It’s just want I wanted and gives me loads of flexibility to be creative with all my home entertainment needs. I’m running a whole bunch of things from Home Assistant, Hyperion, Plex etc. the one thing I’ve been reading about lately is VPN. I have little interest is gaining access to my LAN remotely by VPN via Unraid (I have other solutions for that). My interest is linking my LAN to a remote VPN such as IPVanish or Express VPN. most info I’ve found on the internet points towards remote access to LAN. My question is could someone help me point me towards the right app to use and what keyword I’m obviously missing in my internet searches. I assume I can run an app that acts as a gateway to the remote VPN Server. For example, I want to run my Xbox from my LAN to the remote VPN server. I assume after I have an app correctly configured I can point the Xbox Gateway to the App IP to then use the configured VPN. I would also like to run certain Dockers via the same VPN server. 

Could anyone lend a helping hand, please?

Thanks in advance.

....for anyone else searching it looks like you need to host a VPN client such as Wireguard or Open VPN. Either VPN client has it's own protocol and that needs to be supported by the remote hosting VPN such at ExpressPVN or IPVanish.