Docker Logs

Go to solution Solved by Bastian,

I cannot be the first to ask this question; I have done diligent searches from what I can tell.  This post:  (at bottom) mentions what to do if you need specific container help.  It shows a button that shows the log file, this button doesn't exist anymore (I assume deprecated by the click-->Log option, but this only shows very limited details (like recent to new, etc). How do I find the LENGTHY log file?  Someone mentioned /var/log but I don't think that's for Docker.  I do not run docker.img, instead I run folders as I've had the .img corrupt more than once on me.  I do know the container ID, but I'm lost and running noob here, trying to find logs for a Docker that is quitting error 139 so I can get support from the appropiate forum.   

Any help is appreciated!

• Solution

As you already said, /var/log is mostly logging of the host system. There you can find the log of unraid itself (syslog), the log of the docker engine (I presume, docker.log) and the log of various tools running on the host.

As stupid as it sounds, there is none. What you see in `docker logs` (or the UI) is what you get. You have to take into consideration that docker is no normalised ecosystem. It us up to each application and image maintainer how much and what they want to log. There are ways to extend the applications logging. For example, most server (Spring, Asp, etc) have different log levels, controlled through environment variables, but that depends very heavy on the exact implementation.

So, what to do if a container fails?
Does it fail on creation (unraid will prompt a "command failed" on saving)? You should get a pretty telling exception message from docker with the reason.