New Unraid Build/Install/User - Array has 1 failed device

Go to solution Solved by JorgeB,

First off specs:

ASRock Z690M-ITX/ax with most recent Bios.  i5-13500T, 32gb DDR4 Ram, 1 16TB Seagate Exos X16, 2 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus, Coolermaster V850 SFX, Cable Matters SAS to Sata 3.3 ft ( SFF- 8087 to Sata Forward Breakout), LSI 6Gbps SAS HBA LSI 9201-8i P20, Jonsbo N3 case.  

Not my first pc build but it is my first time making a build for UNRAID.  2 NVME Drives are on the board, those were found no problem.  I set the 16TB to be the Parity drive then got the error , the PC booted first time no issues.  

Array has 1 failed device.

In the device list it shows all 3 drives but Parity 16tb shows invalid.  Under parity settings, i'm currently running a smart test and it reads all the identifier information off of the drive, such as Model Family, Device Model, Serial Number...so it does see it.  Smart overall-health says Passed in Green in the Identity tab.  

So, is it a lemon?  Do I have to wait for the parity to run?  Self test is currently 30% done.  Array is started and parity sync is at 10.7%.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  

Thank you for your response.  The Parity Invalid I had seen on another thread that was common until it was done but what threw me off is the Array has 1 failed device.  It passed the SMART test too, all green and good.  I could post the results on here but just wondering if anyone else had seen these seem "red flags" go up when spinning up a new server.  

• 3 months later...
On 8/17/2023 at 6:05 AM, Doubttom said:

Thanks for the assist, 6 hours to go until parity is done.  Today I am adding the rest of the drives and begin moving files to it.