First Time with failing Drive

Need a Little help.

I am new to unraid and it's been working great. but it seems I have my first bad HD.

it is my disk 4 but I am unsure how to replace it properly.

I looked at the guide but still completely sure on the procedure.

I am guessing this is the right steps

Step 1. Stop the array.

Step 2. Power down the unit.

Step 3. Remove the bad drive

Step 4. Replace the bad drive with a new one.

Step 5. Power up the server.

now here is the confusing part.

I am assuming the unraid will show that the disk is missing, so will the array not start? or will it mount? If it does mount will I have to stop the array again?

assuming that the array does not mount. I am guessing that the disk 4 spot will be red. do I then goto the devices tab and then put the new drive in the disk 4 position? If that is correct will the array then start to automatically rebuild once I start the array?

any help will be appreciated

Need a Little help.

I am new to unraid and it's been working great. but it seems I have my first bad HD.

it is my disk 4 but I am unsure how to replace it properly.

I looked at the guide but still completely sure on the procedure.

I am guessing this is the right steps

Step 1. Stop the array.

Step 2. Power down the unit.

Step 3. Remove the bad drive

Step 4. Replace the bad drive with a new one.

Step 5. Power up the server.

now here is the confusing part.

I am assuming the unraid will show that the disk is missing, so will the array not start? or will it mount? If it does mount will I have to stop the array again?

assuming that the array does not mount. I am guessing that the disk 4 spot will be red. do I then goto the devices tab and then put the new drive in the disk 4 position? If that is correct will the array then start to automatically rebuild once I start the array?

any help will be appreciated

Since we do not know what version of unRAID you are using, we cannot tell you what to expect.