Motherboard advice.

eggs

Hi there. I've never tried building anything like this before, so I'm hoping some of you experienced folks can keep me right!

I'm away to start building my unraid server, and have acquired an antec Titan 550 server case with truepower 550 watt power supply. I'm trying to keep costs as low as possible, and wondered if this mobo was up to the task?  

Intel Server Board SE7501BR2 - motherboard - extended ATX - Socket 604 - E7501 - Socket 604

I'd be looking to fit a pair of intel xeon 2.66 ghz processors, with probably 2 gig ram. Eventually I'd be looking to run 11 or 12 2tb drives in this set up using the pci-x slots with a pair of sata 8 drive cards.

Can you forsee any problems with this plan?  I appreciate any advice you can offer.

Thanks for your time.

Are you going to buy the 2 xeon processors and ram? how much are they going to cost compared to like a sempron cpu and board or equivalent intel board and celeron cpu. (sempron and board proabably around $100 to $150) Will save you some power in the long run, can use PCIe x16 instead of the older PCI-x slot.

For a few bucks might be false economy.

Josh

That's a tough one.

If you already had the board, CPU and memory, I would suggest trying it out.

If you are about to purchase it, I would most likely stay away from it.

The reasons I would stay away:

It has no SATA. you would have to right off the bat buy a $100+ PCIx sata adapter just to get some drives up and running.

It is pretty much obsolete technology at this point. getting upgrades for it can be expensive. if at all..

It is  going to most likely be used with lots of datacenter hours on it. It might die soon.

It is dual CPU, I am pretty sure unRAID only supports one physical CPU.

This board is probably a hot running power hungry beast (will be like a space heater wasting electricity).

It is a huge form factor so it will need a large case.

there is no guarantee all the drivers for this board are in unraid.