Server Build for Plex and VM AI Generation

crspangenberg

Hello everyone, I’ve been using Unraid for about six years now with the following hardware from 2013. 

Intel Core i7-4770K

GIGABYTE GA-Z87X-UD4H LGA 1150 Intel Z87

16GB RAM

4 - 4TB Data Drives

1 - 4TB Parity Drive

1 - 2TB SSD Cache Drive

I predominantly use my server for Plex (which I share with about a dozen friends), homebridge, and a Windows 11 VM.

One of my main gripes with the current server is the lack of transcoding abilities. I continually get errors via Plex that my server isn’t fast enough. And really that is only an issue when I am not home. Locally the server has performed near flawlessly for as long as I have been running Unraid.

My goal with the new server is two-fold. One I’d like to future proof my Plex transcoding abilities including 4K content (we use Apple TVs in our house) but friends and family use anything from Roku, Samsung TVs, and Fire TVs.

I’d like to be able to transcode my media into newer more space saving formats as they are imported onto my server without bogging the system down too tremendously.

I would also like to like to use a GPU within my windows VM. I know my current processor doesn’t support IOMMU, and that has been another reason pushing me to upgrade.

I mainly use my windows VM for medial tasks, but as of lately I have been getting into AI image generations. It would be nice too if I could run Fusion360 via the VM. I would also like recommendations on a graphics card that will perform well and also not break the bank. It’s been a few years since I have built a rig and I got my wife’s blessing to “future proof” hopefully I can get another 10 years out of my machine as it hangs on the wall currently.

My budget now is between $1-$2,000. 

I have been eyeing some of the following parts, but to be honest I’m not much of a gamer and I’m not sure if any of this would be overkill for my intended uses.