6.12.6 Stuck on "Array Starting - Mounting disks..."

Go to solution Solved by JorgeB,

I'm fairly new to unRAID, but very happy to have made the switch. I've made a few mistakes already, and have learned greatly from them. I hope this isn't another one of those.

So i've chosen to use RAIDz1 for my main storage pool (main), with a read and write M.2 SSD cache as well (Dev1 - nvme0n1 + Dev3 - nvme1n1). I think this is my first reboot. Everything was working gloriously, but now i can't bring my array online. I can't mount the two nvme's either - they used to have the status 0dev i think. 

So i'm thinking the issue here is that the RAIDz1 pool expects the two cache drives to be accessible, which for some reason they arent.

I'd really appreciate some input on this.

Thank you!

unRAID.png

tower-diagnostics-20240207-2050.zip

Edited by cooljules1
drive names
4 hours ago, JorgeB said:

Pool has logs and cache vdevs, to use them you need to reimport the pool with all devices assigned, see the end of this post for how to reimport the pool:

https://forums.unraid.net/topic/46802-faq-for-unraid-v6/?do=findComment&comment=1256329

Thank you a million! This helps alot, but i'm still not able to mount the pool.

Just to re-iterate. The procedure is:

1. unassign all pool devices
  2. start array (check the "Yes I want to do this" box)
  3. stop array
  4. re-assign all pool devices, including the new vdev(s), assign all devices sequentially in the same order as zpool status shows, and don't leave empty slots in the middle of the assigned devices.
  5. start array
  6. existing pool will be imported with the new vdev(s):

I can now start the array just fine, with and without the disks assigned, as described above. But the disks are "Unmountable".