LSI 9300-16i Not Recognized by Unraid

First Time Using Unraid

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Unraid and encountering an issue right off the bat. I've ensured that my controller is recognized in the BIOS and the Controller is flashed to IT mode.

However, when I access the Unraid dashboard, none of the drives connected through the controller are showing up. This is a fresh installation, and I haven't modified any settings in Unraid or altered the default settings in the BIOS.

System:

AsRock B650I Lightning

AMD Ryzen 5 7600

2 x 8GB Crucial CT8G48C40U5 DDR5-4800

5 x Seagate Enterprise 4TB SAS HDD - ST4000NM0034

1 x Samsung 990 Pro 1TB (Nvme)

2 x Samsung 850evo SSD 250GB (Connected over Mainboard Sata)

LSI 9300-i16 

Dident test another OS yet so maybe the Controller itself is the problem.

Is there a way to see the connected drives in the BIOs/ should i be able to see them in the BIOs?

I also see that the Heartbeat lights on HBA are Blinking green first one then right after the second one and than it repeats.

syslog

From your diagnostics, it looks like Unraid finds and uses the controller right, there are lines in the system logs about MPT3SAS being loaded, and starting the 3008 chip (which is your Broadcom 9300-16i), but the controller doesn't detect any drives.

You do seem to have one of the latest firmwares (16.00.10, there is a 16.00.12 on the internet) but it doesn't show or list if the BIOS is installed.

If the BIOS is installed on your controller, there would be information displayed during booting about the card, and it looking for drives, and a list of the drives detected, together with a message about pressing something like CTRL+R or CTRL+C to enter the BIOS.

If the BIOS is not installed, check your firmware package, there should be some files called mpt3sas.rom and mpt3x64.rom which you can install with sas3flash -b (instead of sas3flash -f you use with firmware)