"Disk Boot Failure, Insert System Disk and Press Enter"?

yeedao

I am not a computer expert but trying to convert my 7 years old computer Sony Vaio PCV-RX380DS into an Unraid Server; the computer still works fine, other than the noisy fan.

It currently has a 80Gb and 40Gb hard disc drive - both Seagate drives and seem to be working fine.

Operating System: Windown XP Professional, Service Pack 3

Processor: Intel P4, 1.5GHz

Memory: 384MB Rambus RAM

Video Card: GeForce FX 5500

Messages show up as below:

"

Update ESCD Successfully

DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER

"

BIOS setting used:

1. ATAPI CD-ROM [Disabled]

2. Removable Device [uSB FDD]  (I have also tried [uSB ZIP] but came out with the same error message)

3. IDE Hard Drive [Disabled]

4. Other Boot Device [Disabled]

Silent Boot [Disabled]

I have tried both command of

c:\syslinux.exe f:

and

c:\syslinux.exe -ma f:

but neither worked.

Really appreciate any suggestions to fix this problem...

Please forgive some very basic questions, I don't know your level of experience.

I noticed above that the IDE drives are Disabled, and would like to confirm that that IDE setting was in the section on Boot settings, not that IDE drives are completely disabled.

Would you confirm that the C: drive is accessible, and you can see the files and folders in the C: root.

Would you confirm that you copied the latest syslinux.exe to the root of the C: drive.

Would you confirm that your unRAID flash drive was installed as F:.

Could you provide the exact error message you got when you tried the c:\syslinux.exe -ma f: command.

The best resource for preparing a bootable unRAID flash drive is the USB Flash Drive Preparation wiki page.

Thanks for the suggestions but problem persists..

From WeeboTech

"Try using the HP Format tool on the Flash Key.

It is designed to set a specific geometry that is usually detected."