First unRAID Server. Will this Setup Work?

Donnyp

I have an older customer computer I built a few years back. I was wondering, since I will either be purchasing a Mac Mini, or build a new customer PC, if my old one will work with unRAID? I am a noob when it comes to this, and this would be my first build. I have done quite a bit of reading though.

Motherboard: GigaByte GA-EP45-UD3P

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale

Case: Antec 900

Ram: ADATA 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800

Power Supply: CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-550VX 550W

Graphics: ATI Radeon HD4670

Hard Drives: I have a mixture of Samsung and WD. Most of mine are WD Green's from 1TB to 2TB in size. I have a 250GB WD Blue drive as well, that I use for the main OS on this computer

Any options, recommendations would be great!

Thanks

IT would more than likely work ok. Its very easy to test. Just get a flash drive and install unraid basic and boot from the flash. You are limited to 3 drives in the basic version. You parity drve has to be as large or larger than nay disk in the array. Nothing is written to the hard drives, unless you decide to set up a array. If you decide to add disks to unraid, any data will be overwritten.

Install instructions:

http://lime-technology.com/support/unraid-server-installation

unRAID Server version 5.0-rc12a is the latest stable release canidate. One of the best features of unraid is the plugin system. I dont know what you plan to use your server for, but, if you are like most of us, and want to serve media.

have a look here..http://lime-technology.com/wiki/index.php/UnRAID_Plugins

Sabnzb, Sickbeard and Plex are very popular.

Yes, I that hardware will all work. I used the have that same CPU in my server. Make sure to disable the HPA feature in the BIOS if it isn't already as it can cause problems with the hard disks. You also don't need that graphics card. Unraid is designed to be run headless so you don't need a monitor/keyboard/mouse hooked up to it.