Optimal Memory for asRock Z87 Exteme 4

I'm getting a hardware error in my syslog, be that as it may, I didn't have this problem until I started playing with Plex.  I believe that it has to do with Plex playing with my memory.  I currently have 2X4G, but was just wondering what the optimal memory would be for my unRaid rig.  asRock z87 extreme4 mobo with Intel i3-4340 cpu.  I have 10 data drives (31T), parity drive (4T), and my cache drive (60G).  At this point cost is not the object, performance is, I have so much in it now, you get the idea.  What memory sticks would you use for optimal performance?(http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z87%20Extreme4/?cat=Memory)  Thanks!

I'm getting a hardware error in my syslog

What is the error?  You seem to be assuming it's a memory issue, but without knowing just what the error is it's hard to confirm that.

If your memory subsystem is reliable, then Plex "playing with" your memory shouldn't make any difference.    FWIW, with that board I'd use a pair of 8GB modules (16GB total) at an non-overclocked speed (i.e. nothing faster than DDR3-1600 => I'd probably go with DDR3-1333 for max reliability).  I would definitely NOT install more than 2 modules.

I been pondering this for a few hours now, and my elderly powers of deduction, have done this.  here's the error:Tower kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: Machine check events logged  So common denominators are overheating CPU, nope, running at a cool 38C.  I've taken my rig down, separated all cables, rechecked connections, restarted.  Next common error cause could be: "Memory errors or Error Correction Code (ECC) problems" tends to lead me back to the memory modules.  So far the only time these errors appear is while PMS is running.  My memory usage seems extreme:

(from /usr/bin/free -l)

total      used      free    shared    buffers    cached

Mem:      7984548    6229672    1754876          0    139756    5872260

Low:        836244    624200    212044