PoC build for a friend, ended up saving their data

So, back in August or so I had a friend who was interested in setting up an Unraid build to test out VMs and stuff.

I'd long been championing having a server set up to store backups on and for general storage. I have a ~18TB Norco in my closet I use for media streaming that I've been using for a few years now and have come to appreciate the utility of having dedicated storage with built in docker/vm support.

At that time, they had an LG N2A2 NAS application set up in raid 0 format (I bet you can see where this is going) to store pictures/music and a laptop running subsonic and whatnot to handle out of home streaming.  This of course resulted in many calls back to the house to "check if the laptop is on" when subsonic stopped streaming.

I of course extolled the virtues of putting everything onto Unraid dockers with automated backups, parity checks, etc.

They set up a small proof of concept server with a few spare drives but ended up not really doing anything with it until a few weeks ago when their LG NAS melted down. Of course being raid 0, if they weren't able to access the data via the NAS there would be no way to get it back. They did have backups but since they were manual they were weeks out of date. Suddenly, Unraid made a lot more sense to them.

Cue the frantic call from my friend to come over and help rescue their data, move it to the Unraid server, and set up crashplan backups. Fortunately, we were able to get the NAS to come up sporadically so that we could pull data off it and we managed to rescue all their data to Unraid.

What went right:

Unraid was of course easy to set up, configure, and get working in an afternoon.

Adding functionality through dockers was super simple, despite a few hiccups.

In the end they now have a server that monitors itself, backs itself up, and is much easier to recover if it fails.

What went wrong: