Driver for my Dual-Port Ethernet seems to be missing

ChrisCalzolaio

Hello everybody,  :)

I am new to unRAID and this forum, so I read the "Need Help? Read me first" instruction!

So hopefully I've gathered all the neccesarry information!

The Symptom: I can't access the WebGUI after new installation

The Problem:

ifconfig -a

doesn't return any ethx devices (only: gre0, gretap0, ip_vti0, lo)

• This led me to believe, that unRAID cannot use any of my Ethernet Ports, therefore does not obtain an IP and cannot be accessed through the web
  • lspci

returned information about the Ethernet controller:

06:00.0 (and .1) Ethernet Controller: Intel Corporation 80003ES2LAN Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Copper) (rev 01)

• since they are listed there, but aren't in the managed network devices, there must be problem with the driver (is that assumption correct?), so:
  • I used
    lsmod

, to list all the kernel modules which returned amongst others: e1000e

• Quick research returned: http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/network-and-i-o/ethernet-products/000005480.html
  • it says there: "The Linux* e1000e driver supports PCI Express* Gigabit Network Connections except the 82575, 82576, 82580, and I350."
    my Ethernet Controller Chipset is: 82563EB (full hardware listet below
  • so I searched for the appropriate driver on the Intel HP and tried installing, which failed, because
    make

is unavailable

• then I found a topic in the unRAID wiki, on how to compile my own kernel, which I considered doing for a second  :o

My Questions:

• Is the installed driver indeed incompatible with my hardware?
  • Do I have to compile a personal kernel in order to install the driver for my hardware?
  • And if so, is there any chance for a future support, despite the age of the hardware?
  • Is my hardware really that unique, to not have support natively?
  • Is there something entirely different I seem to be missing?