We're Hiring! Full Stack Developer ×

Version 6.4 - File copies onto cache drive completely cripple Plex and maybe others

Chad Kunsman

Threads that appear to be people having the same or a similar issue can be found here:

https://lime-technology.com/forums/topic/59792-system-gets-unresponsive-when-a-docker-app-starts-a-file-transfer/

https://lime-technology.com/forums/topic/58017-when-copying-files-to-unraid-server-becomes-unresponsive-gui-smb-dockers-etc/

https://lime-technology.com/forums/topic/62376-unraid-635-high-load-50-when-copying-large-files-from-one-share-to-another/

I'm new to Unraid, having set up my current server less than two weeks ago. 

i7-4770

8GB RAM

5 platter drives -  1TB cache, 4TB parity, then 4TB, 2TB, 1TB data drives. All drives pre-cleared before assigning their role. No SMART errors.

appdata, system, domain, and iso shares are all on the 1TB cache drive and set to 'cache prefer'. I also have another share called 'speedy' that I put files I'm seeding on. 

All drives are XFS, and cache drive was BTRFS before but I reformatted as XFS.

I run dockers including: PlexMediaServer, Tautulli, Sonarr, Radarr, Jackett

I have a USB external drive (unassigned devices plugin), as well, 8TB.

When my cache drive was BTRFS, I would run an rsync from my USB external over to an array share that's set to 'cache yes'. Meaning that the files were technically hitting cache drive first. 

Whenever I had this rsync running, all my docker containers would take a huge dump. They were completely inaccessible. I couldn't stop them, kill them, exec a shell into them, no webUI was loading, nothing. Completely inaccessible. Even parts of the Unraid UI were not loading, such as the dashboard tab, the docker tab, and maybe one more but I don't remember. 

Cancel the rsync job, and everything is instantly fine again.

I tried assigning a 'nice' and and 'ionice' value to the rsync job, but it made no difference.