Several questions before I buy. Almost have all the hardware

cammelspit

Alright, as some background, I am an amateur here to pretty much anything server related. I have a pretty advanced pfSense setup, built a brand new home network running new cabling, that sort of thing. I find myself in possession of some older hardware but I am missing some components and intend on likely setting up unpaid.

USE CASES

Primarily, I intend to virtualize a pfSense install to finally be able to remove the older machine running it right now. It does not support AES in hardware so before long it will have to go anyway. My second primary use case here for an Unraid server is for centralized storage. Secondary uses will include some light docker stuff and at least one very light duty Linux server VM. PCI passthrough will have to happen for the pfSense VM but I don't think there will be a need for more than one card to be passed through.

HARDWARE I HAVE

ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX V2

AMD FX 8350 8 core

ROSEWILL RSV-L4500 case

4x 1Gb Intel NIC

Several older video cards so tossing one in there should not be an issue at all

HARDWARE I FULLY INTEND TO BUY RIGHT NOW

A simple 12 port SATA/SAS controller

10Gb Dual SFP+ NIC with fiber transceivers (Probably not immediately but in a few months)

NEED RAM