recommended Board for Ryzen 3600 ? pls Help

I`m currently planning to upgrade my unraid Sever cause my Hardware is realy old - and since i`m playing around with unraid i see a lot of potential.

I want to put also my RTX 2080 into my unraid-server to pass it through to my VM (mostly Win10) - so would be really nice if someone can help me finding the right motherboard for the CPU

(actual running with 3x8TB Array, 1x8TB Parity, 1x1TB SSD Cache, a few Docker like emby and 1 TestVM Win10)

There are so many Boards out there - i really don`t know which one will make the job without trouble...can you pls help ?

Good day,

Disclaimer, I'm also new to unraid so take what I tell you with a grain of salt, having recently done some research for a mother board myself for unraid id like to share what little I know.

Seeing that your considering ryzen 3600, I'd go with a mother board that had onboard VGA, as unraid needs a primary gpu to boot, if you don't you'll end up using one of your precious pcie x16 slot for a lame gpu just to get it to boot, which is not cool.

My recommendation is Asrock X470D4U. Also has IPMI for remote management, no extra license to purchase to get full access to your mobo, (unlike supermicro). Availability of these boards are an issue but they are in and out if stock quickly.

Hope this helps,

Regards,
Shane.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

On 1/13/2020 at 10:50 PM, romibaer said:

I`m currently planning to upgrade my unraid Sever cause my Hardware is realy old - and since i`m playing around with unraid i see a lot of potential.

I want to put also my RTX 2080 into my unraid-server to pass it through to my VM (mostly Win10) - so would be really nice if someone can help me finding the right motherboard for the CPU

(actual running with 3x8TB Array, 1x8TB Parity, 1x1TB SSD Cache, a few Docker like emby and 1 TestVM Win10)

There are so many Boards out there - i really don`t know which one will make the job without trouble...can you pls help ?