Jump to content
  • 6.12.4 - User share restricted to single disk no longer sees that disk post upgrade


    -Daedalus
    • Closed

    Edit: Egg, meet face. This was entirely my fauilt.

    Shortly after upgrading, I also changed "Global share settings" to exclude disk2. 

    I thought this would exclude it from shares by default, saving me a couple of clicks. I didn't realize it would remove it entirely from selection.

    Leaving this here for anyone who does something similarly stupid in future.

    _______________________________________________________________________________________________________

     

    I have a share "backup", that is set to include only disk2 in the array, and use my pool "ssd".

    After upgrading (afternoon of the 15th), all the files are still present on disk2, but /mnt/user/backup sees only files created there after the upgrade.

    In the GUI, I cannot select disk2 from the list of included or excluded disks. It simply lists disk1, disk3, disk4, etc.

     

    This had caused serious problems for several containers that rely on this data being changed only by the container and not external factors. Pointers to the data have now been corrupted, such that should I need to restore data before this point, I will have to manually confirm the contents of backups myself, and manually overwrite contents.

     

    I gave 6.12 months before upgrading. Lesson learned. This is not what I expect of a stable release.

    server-diagnostics-20230916-2220.zip server-diagnostics-20230915-0836.zip




    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Status Definitions

     

    Open = Under consideration.

     

    Solved = The issue has been resolved.

     

    Solved version = The issue has been resolved in the indicated release version.

     

    Closed = Feedback or opinion better posted on our forum for discussion. Also for reports we cannot reproduce or need more information. In this case just add a comment and we will review it again.

     

    Retest = Please retest in latest release.


    Priority Definitions

     

    Minor = Something not working correctly.

     

    Urgent = Server crash, data loss, or other showstopper.

     

    Annoyance = Doesn't affect functionality but should be fixed.

     

    Other = Announcement or other non-issue.

×
×
  • Create New...