Help with SATA card <Solved>

Hi

I'm very new to Unraid so i hope im posting the right place.

I'm looking at a SATA card but i dont know if its supported.

The spec are (copy from sellers website)

Element Type: PCI-E to SATA 3.0 Card
Model: PCE8SAT-M01
Master: fit for Marvell 88SE92xx + JMB5XX
Interface: PCI-E 1X 2X 4X 8X 16X
Support system: fit for Windows 7/8/XP/10 fit for Ubuntu
Expansion interface: 8 x SATA3.0 interfaces

I'm using ASUS ROG STRIX B550-E GAMING with AMD 3700X and the latest version of Unraid (beta) as i had no LAN support on the lastest stable version.

Hope you can help me and thank you in advance :D

Edited by Ira
Solved
32 minutes ago, Ira said:

Master: fit for Marvell 88SE92xx + JMB5XX

Nothing with a Marvell chipset is recommended with unRAID.  For some they work fine if virtualization/IOMMU is disabled.  In most cases they are a problem and can drop drives or cause them not to show up in unRAID.

If you need an 8 port SATA card, the suggestion is to go with something based on an LSI chipset.  There are many posts in these forums about good cards based on LSI.  I personally use the Dell H310 (LSI SAS 2008 chipset), but there are many others from which to choose.

1 hour ago, Ira said:

cant find your card from someone who wanna ship to me can i use this?

I am not at all familiar with the 2 ASMedia 1093 chips on that card and it is not listed on the ASMedia site.  Avoid anything that has port multipliers/PCIe bridge chips (if that is what the 1093 is) as they will cause disk bottleneck issues.

The chips known to work well with unRAID are the following:

ASMedia 1061/1062 - 2 SATA ports

ASMedia 1064 (seems to be a new chip) - 4 SATA ports

JMicron JMB582 - 2 SATA ports

JMicron JMB585 - 5 SATA ports

Various LSI chips - 8 or more SATA ports.