[6.9.1] Questions about cache pool operation and 'the mover' as they relate to VM's

Hey all,

I am fairly new to Unraid, and while this seems like a great time to have started using it with the 6.9x release, I seem to be having trouble finding information on how some things work under the hood now.

I was running a 970 Evo Plus NVME as my cache drive, but today I grabbed another one. I was going to put them in raid 0, but now I am not sure as I saw some mention about 'the mover'. I am really not sure exactly how the mover works, or what criteria is used as the basis of it's operation, or how to influence that. That said, does having the cache in raid 0 cause additional restriction on how/when the mover is able to operate vs using raid 1 or will that not make a difference? Are there any functionality differences between using cache in raid 0 vs 1 (outside of the basics of standard raid operation) when it comes to what unraid can and cannot do under the hood while in either mode?

Since I just rebuilt the cache (added the second 970 about an hour ago) I started the VM back up but it felt magnificently unusable, so do I have to manually invoke the mover to have the vm run on the cache pool? If so, how does one let it know when running it, that the VM is what I want to speed up?

Lastly, when a VM is using the cache pool, does it then only live in the cache pool, or are changes written back to the array? If so, how often does that happen? Does it only happen when the VM is off and that is what the mover actually does? So many questions on how things work under the hood, but can't seem to really find much current info.

I appreciate any clarification that anyone might be able to provide.

Thanks,

-MH

Edited by MostHated
  • MostHated changed the title to [6.9.1] Questions about cache pool operation and 'the mover' as they relate to VM's