will my old computer be ok to run unraid

Sulprax

Hello i am new to unraid and was highly convinced to join unraid due to watching space invaders one tutorials on YouTube. this will be temporary until i get an x99 motherboard and Xeon processor, as i want dedicated vm's  for my pfsense and home assistant.

current pc is;
Motherboard: MSI Z87 MPOWER socket 1150

CPU: Intel Core i5-4570 3.2 GHz Quad-Core Processor

Memory: 20GB DDR3

PSU: be quiet System power 8 400w 80+

case: Fractal Design R6

Before i add hard drives do i need a sas card to future proof the system, also someone on youtube said to use a sas card for better stability, is this true?

i am hoping you lovely people on this forum can give me any tips and advice.

regards Sulprax

Looks decent, you don't need to add a disk controller until you run out of onboard ports, 7 or 8 depending on whether you populate the M.2.

Since that case doesn't appear to easily support that many drives, I doubt you will need a disk controller unless you move to a motherboard with fewer onboard SATA.

That motherboard appears to advertise how overclock friendly it is, but DON'T overclock a server.

• Like 1

@jonathanm Thank you the motherboard has never been overclocked, i brought it years ago because i liked the look of it haha, and still don't want to part with it yet, the case can support 10 hard drives and 2 ssd so when i run out of the 8 onboard satas i should look at getting a disk controller 

31 minutes ago, Sulprax said:

i want dedicated vm's  for my pfsense

I have exactly this setup, a pfsense VM and a windows VM with Homeseer.

My advice? Keep a relatively current hardware based pfsense box available, as well as figuring out what's needed to migrate your pfsense xml backups from the VM to the hardware.