Random crashing after long term stability

nomisco

Looking for some pointers as to what may be causing my server to crash. At the moment, from memory, it will run for between a day and 7 to 10 days before crashing.

It's a headless machine, so as it's sat behind my TV, I've connected it to the HDMI port and added a keyboard to see if anything happens onscreen when it crashes. It just sits at the login prompt (untouched since boot), but that is also unresponsive to the keyboard.

There are plugins on the machine which may not have been on there when it was stable, but the nature of the crashing means it difficult to rule some out by removing them as I don't know which ones it could be - if any.

I'm a total Linux noob, so I set the log to be mirrored to the flash drive. Looking at the syslog file in the logs directory does not show any event when it crashes (I've taken the flash drive to my Windows PC to look at the file). Attached are the system diagnostics, plus the syslog file just after it crashed which I may have inadvertently deleted from the flash before rebooting the server.

Just to add that I've switched between the stable and RC release with the same outcome.

unraid-diagnostics-20211222-0932.zip syslog

Edited by nomisco

Thank you Jorge. I only use that driver for Plex transcoding but can do without. I remember adding some lines to a config file or two; but can't remember how I'd remove them.

I suppose a reboot of the server would be required after they're removed?

Update:  I removed some lines from the 'Go' file:

#enable module for iGPU and perms for the render device
modprobe i915
chown -R nobody:users /dev/dri
chmod -R 777 /dev/dri

And also the relevant lines from the Plex container.

I'll give this a try, and report back either way, but it may be a week! Any other suggestions in the meantime would be welcome.

Edited by nomisco
Update info