Hard drives keep being disabled

Oesi369

Hi, I've problems with my unraid server (v6.9.2), where my hard drives unexpectedly get being disabled after a couple of days in use.

For the pairity drive, I was able to solve this issue with the "pairity disk swap" trick (disable raid, unselect pairity disk, restart raid, stop raid, select hard drive as new pairity disk, rebuild the raid). However, recently my other hard drive (containing all the data) got disabled and I tried the same "trick", which resulted in all data being wiped from this drive. Since I had a backup there was no real data loss, but you see that I'm new to unraid and still need to learn a few things... 😉

After starting all over again, my unraid server kept working fine for couple of days until today, when my pairity drive got disabled again.

Bildschirmfoto-2022-01-20-um-16-16-06.pn

I've also run a MemTest on this machine, which was completed without any issues. In addition, I've also replaced the SATA cables, but the disabled drive never got available again in the raid array. However, the disabled drive is able to spins up and down when clicking on the red cross icon next to the drive name. So it seems to be present in unraid, but the drive is not able to start up in the array.

What could be the problem and how could I fix this issue? How can I re-enable a hard drive after being disabled? I would really appreciate your support in this regard.

I've also uploaded the diagnostic file for this server: LINK REMOVED

Looking forward to your replies!

Thanks,

Markus

Edited by Oesi369
17 minutes ago, Oesi369 said:

"pairity disk swap" trick (disable raid, unselect pairity disk, restart raid, stop raid, select hard drive as new pairity disk, rebuild the raid)

This is not the "parity swap" procedure, it is just the procedure for rebuilding a disk to itself.