Rsync errors using Delta copy

Newbie here.

Thanks for the Great forum and unRaid community , I was able to setup my unRaid server and is working great. Intial setup is small 2X2TB Drive and a 2TB parity drive. I plan to expand later once initial kinks are resolved.. Past few days I have been trying to setup rsync so that i can backup all my PC's( 1 PC and 2 Laptops) important files to unRaid server everyday. All my PC's are either win 64 machines or Vista. Installed Delta copy in all these machines.

I read every topic on rsync in this forum(Tibbar-WeeboTech) but still rsync is not working in my setup. I have setup rsyncd.conf file and s20-init.rsyncd file as well as described.

Here is the error that I am getting. I am complete noob to linux. so please help me.

root@Tower:/mnt/disk1/backup# /usr/bin/rsync rsync://Tower/

rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (0 bytes received so far) [receiver]

rsync error: error in rsync protocol data stream (code 12) at io.c(632) [receiver=3.0.4]

I tried IP address as well still same error

>:(

That error tells us rsync doesn't have enough information to do what you want. You'd get the same thing using "rsync horned:toad".

It can be used many ways, but is generally called with more than what you show in your example.

e.g.

rsync -optionsandsuchthatoftenlookugly source destination

Could you maybe reference a thread you learned from that would provide context?

Cyrnel

Some more additional info. my thought process was to setup rsync in unraid box as a server and deltacopy as client running in various PC's. I will then schedule backup run using deltacopy. But right now I am trying to test rsync @ unRaid and make sure it is setup correctly at the server end.

1. my rsyncd.conf is setup in /boot/custom/etc and /etc as described in the forum topic

uid            = root

gid            = root

use chroot      = no

max connections = 4

pid file        = /var/run/rsyncd.pid

timeout        = 600