[unRAID-6.9.2] Docker Networking Questions

Go to solution Solved by amura11,

I'll preface this with: I'm moving to unRAID from Proxmox and I have some Docker experience but when it comes to unRAID I'm a dumb.

I have my local network segregated into different partitions for different purposes (I manage this by hand). For example 10.0.1.0/24 is where I keep all my servers (via static DCHP leases) and 10.0.3.0/24 is where I have all my regular DHCP leases. When I was using Proxmox I would start a new VM/Container, let it grab a DHCP lease, then converted that lease to a static lease. If I needed my VMs/Containers to talk to each other I would use hostnames to facilitate that. Is it possible to do this using Docker in unRAID?

I know Docker can have it's own internal networks but I want to be able to connect to my containers via other devices on my network and not have to share the hosts ports. Looking at the Docker settings it looked like the br0 network that is setup might be able to do this. However, when I tried using this network the IP assigned to my container was not one in the range of my DHCP leases.

If I use the br0 network will hostnames work? And one final noob question, what is the hostname of a container/app? Is it just it's name?

I appreciate any help, unRAID looks like it'll be awesome once I can wrap my brain around some of these concepts.

I think I'm going about this wrong. What I want to be able to do, it it's possible, is to be able to connect to my containers via hostname both by other containers and by other devices on my network.

Using the br0 network I'm able to connect to the containers using their IP addresses (how that's working I can only guess is magic) but I'm not able to connect using the hostname. Or I just don't know what the hostname is and this is all working.

• Solution