Parts list check.

GaryT

I've been thinking of building an unraid server for a while now and I think I am finally ready. I will be using this to serve dvd and music rips to three HTPC's. Currently I have a desktop Pentium d 3.0GHz with a maxtor 1.5TB for movies (almost full) and seagate 500GB for music (almost full).  I just purchased a buffalo 2TB terrastation (hard to pass up @ 799) for expansion, but I think I want something that can grow as my needs grow. 

Motherboard  Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R

Processor      Intel Pentium Allendale 2.2GHz Dual-Core

Video Card    EVGA 128-P1-N320-LX PCI

Memory        1g DDR2 PC4200 533MHz (already have)

Case              Thermaltake Armor Series VA8003BWS

Power Supply  Thermaltake Tough Power QFan Series 500W

Drives            Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB Sata 3.0Gb/s (3 or 4 to start with)

Please let me know what you think. Be gentle, I'm kinda new to this whole computer building thing.

Thanks,

Gary Trudeau

For a new guy, you have picked some very good components (except the PCI video card of course).  Have fun building it!

My one quibble would be the power supply.  I have no knowledge of the Qfan series you mention above, but in general, Thermaltake power supplies do not have a very good reputation, unlike the rest of their products.  It should be adequate to start with though.  If I were anticipating more than 6 drives in the future, I would probably select a higher quality PS.  You do not necessarily need higher wattage, 500 to 700 watts should be fine.

Thanks Rob for the reply. I chose the PCI video card because it was cheap and hopefully won't produce much heat. I also figured that the video wasn't important and because it's PCI I don't use the PCIe slots I will eventually use for expansion. Am I correct in my thinking?

How about SeaSonic M12 SS-600HM 600W, 80 Plus certified, modular plugs, and 5 year warranty.

I will probably use AMS or Icydock 5 in 3 backplane modules.