TRaSH Guides and Spinning dics

I am relatively new to unraid.

I am familiar with the TRaSH Guides recommended structure for a media server.

Within that structure I understand a degree of disk management and granularity can be achieved by manually placing the subfolders on the discs of preference. This was a concern of mine and still work in progress.

However, as we have one share being ‘data’ across all media discs does this mean that all discs under this Share are spun up when the Share is being used or have I got my understanding of this wrong.

This is not what I want. If subfolder (not share) tv is being used I don’t need or want the movies disc spinning.

Clarity anyone?

2 hours ago, Rweng009 said:

However, as we have one share being ‘data’ across all media discs does this mean that all discs under this Share are spun up when the Share is being used or have I got my understanding of this wrong.

This is not what I want. If subfolder (not share) tv is being used I don’t need or want the movies disc spinning.

Clarity anyone?

Personally, I have a share called media.  Every *arr docker has /mnt/user/media mapped to /media inside the container.  My share media is on all disks but Unraid by default spreads this across all disks evenly.  So its possible that 1 episode is on disk 1 and the next episode is on disk 2.  But it doesn't separate a single file across multiple disks.  If you want say tv on a single disk and movies on another, you will have to create those shares separately and in the share settings specify which disk you want them on.  If you have parity disk then its possible all disks will be spun up anyways if turbo write is enabled. 

Using a cache pool pretty much negates the path mappings part of the trash guides also. 

7 hours ago, trurl said:

If you want to access a single share on the network that includes them all, rootshare is a feature of Unassigned Devices plugin.