Can't create files that begin with '_' via SMB

hi

Unraid newbie here. I have all kinds of NAS's and haven't had this problem before, so i'm wondering what i need to do to allow a regular user to create files that start with underscores via the SMB protocol.

A little background, i setup a basic unraid server using an Intel NIC and an IcyBox USB3.1 10 disc enclosure filled with 5 disks and an SSD as cache. i know the USB thing isn't a good idea, but i don't have my server yet plus i needed to create backups of a failing Drobo system that's hosts 100,000 of graphics files. 

i create 2 shares, a regular user, and started copying the files from my Mac to the server, using rsync.

i know that rsync by default hides the files it's transferring on the destination by creating a '.' version of the file. So 'picture1.jpg' becomes '.picture1.jpg.#####' while in transfer (there is some extra character added in the end to make the file unique, i guess). once transfer completed it replaced the . file with the actual original file. this is the command i'm using : 'rsync --progress -av <srcfolder> <destfolder>.

i'm doing this from the source Mac and push out the files to the unraid server, making the owner and permission match the user i cannot to the share with.

this works great and even with good speed (because of the cache) but i started noticing errors like 'couldn't create ._picture1.jpg files. Incorrectly i thought they were leftovers from when i modified the files from another Mac over SMB, thinking it was a hidden backup copy of the original file... 

oh was i wrong, it turns out that i do have files that correctly start with an underscore and that this normal user through SMB on Unraid cannot create files with such names. when i copy a file on the unraid share and then rename it to _file1.txt it just disappears.

i thought: it just disappears from view, but no, it's gone it's not there. even checked with CLI from the UI as root. nothing...