New 8TB Drive Not Preclearing - MBR signature failing to write properly

caplet55
Go to solution Solved by JorgeB,

I have an unraid system which has been largely trouble free for a long time but I needed to add a new drive as space was running low. I had 4 x WD RED 4TB drives installed and so I replaced the parity drive with an IronWolf 8tb and am looking to add another ironwolf 8tb to the array. Both ironwolf drives are brand new and although the parity drive is fine the second 8tb drive just will not preclear, clear or format. 

The 4tb drive I removed from parity also failed to preclear and in the end returned the "wrong magic number error" so I assumed it was a dead drive but now this drive will not clear either so I'm not sure if there is a problem with my system or the drive. 

I'm not that technical but like a lot of people using unraid I usually follow directions pretty well lol. 

If anyone has the time to take a look at the diagnostics I'd really appreciate someone who knows what to look for seeing if the issue if the system, the drive or ME.

Thanks in advance for any help.

tower-diagnostics-20220930-0928.zip

Does it show any problems (bad sectors etc) in the "Attributes" tab within the disc in unRaid's "Main" window?

Do you have another machine to plug it into, so you can run some diagnostic tools over it?  Like the Seatools, or Spinrite?  A failed new drive is not unheard of, so it might be a dud.

I'm currently upgrading a failing 3TB IronWolf drive with an 8TB unit, still copying the parity.  I didn't do any pre-clearing though, just shut the machine down, yoinked out the failing unit and swapped it out.  Seems to have worked fine for me in the past :)

Firstly, thanks both of you for your help. 

DarthKegRaider; No bad sectors shown, the disk looks fine to me. Unfortunately I only have macbooks so no PC that I can plug it into directly. I guess I could buy a caddy and there might be some OSX tools for seagate drives so I will check on that.