Cache upgrade for Nextcloud performance

SSMI

I am looking into making some upgrades to my unraid box.  The biggest reason is I am using Nextcloud more and it is slow to load.  I think this is the case because I have my Nextcloud data on the array for protection but that means the drives have to spin up to do anything with it.  With that thought, I have my first question.

• Is there a performance boost moving the Nextcloud data off the array into a cache pool?

That leads to the next consideration.  I want some protection for my Nextcloud data.  Right now that is accomplished with the data being on the array and the parity that gives.  I'm not an expert but it seems like I could get similar protection and better performance with my cache being on a RAID of SSDs.  I would set up a pool using to SSDs in a BTRFS Raid.  I would like to use 2x2TB SSDs to have plenty of space.

• Do I understand that correctly?
  • Can you have multiple pools?
  • Would it be worth moving all the old app data over to the new pool?

Assuming the above is true the ideal solution would be to put a couple of 2TB NVME drives into the computer and make them the cache pool.  My motherboard is old enough to not have NVME drive connectors.  That means I would need a new MB and CPU (and probably RAM).  Since I am upgrading all that I would like it seems like it would be time to do the case (from Lian-Li PC-Q25 to Define XL7 maybe) too.  There are a couple of reasons for that.  I would like more space in the case for drives.  I would like more PCI-E to be able to add a GPU down the line (for VMs or encoding).  The thing is I don't really need extra performance or storage right now.  That seems like a giant set of upgrades just to get some better cache storage.  

• Is there a way to add 2 NVME drives to an older MB maybe via PCI-E?
  • Would I need PCI-E bifurcation to do that for 2 drives?