Cache drive size and setup??

What is the typical cache size most people are using? How many are you using? What setup are you using? Raid 1 or ?

I have an NVME Seagate Firecuda 1TB at this point, but just want to make it right when I get it all setup. This is my first build, and I'm getting it all set and ready to go. 

Thanks.

Edited by ingeborgdot

Short answer: Since you are starting with unraid, you will be fine with 1 cache @ 1TB.

Longer answer:  Loaded question, as you didn't give enough info to properly answer.  How do you plan to use Unraid? Though I will try and give you my personal usage/thoughts and what I have seen others do in the forum.

BIAS Warning:  I am what I would consider a "power user", someone that knows/desires enough to do some limited tweaking and config with ease of use, simplicity as a priority.  So this means limited to GUI configurations, using plugins and dockers available from the app store.   Avoid manual cfg file editing etc...

I would guess most people use 1 cache drive, I do. 

There are 2 major uses for the cache drive:

• Speed up, uploads to the server.  The "Mover" then will copy them to the protected array at a time/interval you set.
  • Store docker/VM files.   Cache is faster at writes, so if you are running apps/VMs, you don't want them running directly on your protected shares.  So cache is the perfect "home".  Though I highly suggest backing up these files, CA appdata backup is a great plugin!

Cache Size?  Completely dependent on what and how you plan to use your cache.

I use a few of the major starr app dockers (Sonarr, Radarr etc) and Plex Server, so I have my docker appdata and any "working"/temp download directories on my cache.  It is common for me to get ~1TB of content a month.  My cache usage fluctuates, right now it's ~50GB, but can get in the 100-200GB range.   I have yet to turn on advanced Plex metadata, but plan to... this will use up more of my cache.