Unraid just for storage and power button for shutdown

Baggi0

Hi everyone,

I am looking to set up Unraid with my old PC components and a couple of 14tb hard drives to start with so i can store and protect my ever growing media.   I'm not going to be using any VM's or dockers (i'm new to this i think its the right terminoolgy) and dont need it running 24/7.   

Basically i will only be using the NAS occasionaly and it will be off more than it is on,  i just want to protect and add to my data, as its took a long time to build up my collection and be able add drives (of any size) when i want without having to set everything up again and it seems like this is really easy to do with Unraid thus ticking all the boxes. 

So the million dollar question, is OK to use Unraid like this? 

If so, i'd like to power it off with the power button using the link below but its a bit vague when it comes to that in the last paragraph.  I'm just unsure if turning it off and on will hurt anything as it seems most of you guys run yours constantly.  https://wiki.unraid.net/Powerdown_script 

Heres my specs as well if needed;  All this is old and collecting dust so threw it all in.  Ive also found out i cant enable virtualization with my CPU but don't need GPU passthrough anyway.

Intel i5 3570k

AsRock h77 pro4-m motherboard

64gb Ram

600w EVGA PSU

2x 14tb HDDs

TIA

Edited by Baggi0
48 minutes ago, Alex.vision said:

If you want to shut down your server, you are more than welcome to. It won’t hurt anything. Pressing the power button will initiate a clean shutdown of the system just like any other computer. 

@Baggi0, that is a one second push of the power button will give you a clean shutdown.  If you push and hold for approximately five seconds or longer, that will force an immediate shutdown (useful when the computer locks-up and will not respond any other way).

11 hours ago, Alex.vision said: