Is a Core i5 enough for using VMs?

Hi.

I'm planning to build an unraid system to replace my very old PC running openmediavault which acts as a backup of my synology NAS. I'd also like to run VMs. I'm sure of using Windows 11 and maybe Ubuntu and macOS (for which I already found a tutorial). I have a spare i5 8500 but I have to find a 1151 motherboard and since they're very expensive on my country's eBay I thought I might as well buy a more recent motherboard and CPU. I'm just not sure if an i5 10400F or the spare 8400 I already have if I go the 1151 route would be good enough since I'm new to both unraid and virtualizing.

Thanks in advance.

The I5 10400f has 6 cores /12 threads. Windows minimum is 2 cores. So 1 core with hyperthread partner. I would assign 2 cores with two matching hyper thread cores. That leaves you 4 cores (8 threads)   to run server and dockers. If you want to run multiple VMs at the same time you should look for a CPU with more cores. 

Thanks for the reply. What would you recommend? At the moment I'm using docker on omv for plex media server and homeassistant. And I might as well use it for pi hole which i'm currently running on a raspberry pi 3.

Also regarding drives, my data is currently on a raid 5 array of 3 4 TB HDDs. If I understand correctly I need a 4th array drive or is it the one already included in my raid 5?

CPU is hard one to reccomend.  I prefer Intel as I like to use Intel quicksync for plex transcoding.   Something with 10, 12 or more cores with hyper threading would be more appropriate. Raid 5 holds some parity information on all disks. On unraid the parity drive does not hold data.  So 3 4tb drives would give you 8tb of space with 1 drive for parity protection.  Four drive (4tb) would give you 12tb with 1 drive for parity. 

4 hours ago, Gragorg said: