General rules for choosing a mainboard?

Hi everyone!

I want to build an Unraid server. I've read a lot of threads here and elsewhere (xbmc forums) about how to do it. I have some experience with building PCs and Linux. However, after all the reading I feel a little bit overwhelmed and that's why I wanted to ask what I have to look for when choosing a mainboard.

- SATA controllers. How much does it matter? Which controllers are recommended for Unraid / from which ones should I stay away? What about boards with two different controllers?

- Gbit Ethernet controllers. Same as above. Can I assume any Gbit Ethernet controller that is generally supported on Linux will be fine?

- What do I look for in a board that should run 24/7? Any known brands/chipsets that should not run all the time?

- I understand I don't need much RAM or computing power for pure Unraid functionality. But if I wanted to add, let's say, a torrent client and AirVideo (with transcoding). How can I determine what CPU and how much RAM I'd need? (Would I benefit much from DDR3 vs DDR2?)

- Anything else I'd need to know for choosing a suitable mainboard?  ::) I just want to avoid buying a mainboard and later learn that it was a bad choice.

Thanks in advance for taking the time to answer my noobish questions.

Best regards.

- SATA controllers. How much does it matter? Which controllers are recommended for Unraid / from which ones should I stay away? What about boards with two different controllers?

Most all onboard SATA ports will work just fine.  I don't think anyone has reported problems with onboard SATA ports since the kernel was updated in the last couple of betas.  The AMD Fusion boards seem a little flakey right now, but most desktop board are fine.

- Gbit Ethernet controllers. Same as above. Can I assume any Gbit Ethernet controller that is generally supported on Linux will be fine?