PCI-X SATA Controller Install and unRAID

cpthook

Hello forum,

I am very new to unRAID and have just completed my First unRAID Build http://www.flickr.com//photos/cpthook26/sets/72157627790229610/show/ but I have run into a problem!! I want to add two more drives to my array using a PCI-E 2port SATA card, but my MOBO wont recognize my card.  The card has a driver disc with it but how would i install it using the unRAID OS?? ??? 

Sorry for the NooB question, but I have hit a brick wall and must ask the experts..  Thanks!

Well hello there.. thought you guys had a boycott against NooB's in this forum!!  This is the card i bought from fry's the other day when picking up my gear:

http://www.byteccusa.com/product/xP-card/BT-PES322i/BT-PES322i.htm... I will probably switch to the one you have suggested as it is the same recommendation i received in the XBMC forums just thought I'd check here and a few other places as well.  Thanks for the response!

*******UPDATE*******

Well , after several reboots it seems that my MOBO is now recognizing my PCIe SATAII controller card.  Funny that this happens right after ohlwiler  recommended a different PCIe card which i subsequently bought right after..  Now..  will i send the new card back and keep the old one in or try the new one out. 

I'm thinking that I may put in the new card to see if my unRAID system will reboot properly. 

My situation is this....

I cant reboot to unRAID while my drives are connected.  Currently, if i do a clean reboot I get a bios message "Verifying DMI Pool Data........Update success!" and no further action after that.  So, I have to open my box and disconnect drive SATA cables and then I can reboot to unRAID OS...then i have to hurry up and reconnect SATA cables to drive(s) before the OS totally posts to Tower Login.