A filesystem and a cache question before my unraid journey starts

Go to solution Solved by ___niko___,

The Plan
Attached a picture of the old and new setup
unraid-2023-12-15-0755.thumb.png.0486b091ed0aeee763c4acc6364bafbc.png

The Rationale
I'm about to embark on my first unraid project.
Drives and electricity cost at lot of money over here in the EU, so I decided to give my several machines that I already have a different purpose to optimize usage and cut back on power-costs.
Although I like ZFS and snapshots combined with TrueNAS, it's not as flexible as unraid with the mixed size drives.
Overall plan is to have my unraid machine do its thing once a week and then turn it off at the end of the day.

The Questions
I have plenty of experience with TrueNAS and watched a lot of spaceinvader's videos but before I begin on my unraid journey, really need help with 2 decisions.
1) filesystem: XFS/ZFS. Unraid now seems to be firmly aboard the ZFS train but for my usecase I don't think ZFS has much extra use. Snapshots also take up space and for bitrot I have the parity drive(sort off). Have mostly movies and family pictures which are already compressed so not missing out a lot there either.
I'll lose the snapshots but I've read that rsync can copy over all files retaining dates/permissions etc so not hung up on that. 
So my take would be using XFS, if I've missed any compelling reason not to use XFS please let me know.

My plan is to start with 2 drives then putting some selected data drives in the unraid server to locally copy the data onto the array. Once finished, wipe the data drive and then make it part of the array expanding the capacity to where it can hold all the data from the different sources. After the copying is done, add the parity drive.
2) Should I use a cache SSD during this first period of just copying data onto the array or better to wait once everything is in place and THEN add a cache drive to cache new writes before committing them to the array?