Pre-clear versus Parity - Newbie trying to understand unRaid

ChuckS

I am new to unRaid and trying to understand some of the basic concepts. I have built a system following the guides here on the forms and WiKi. I was a bit confused on the pre-clear script.  It seemed in the user guide that it mentioned it was not necessary to run a pre-clear when setting up a system for the first time.  It also mentioned to copy all your data then enable the parity drive as this would save some time. I started my initial install without pre-clearing the drives and with parity off (I reserved a drive but am not using it yet.)

So my question is around parity and pre-clear. It seems one reason to run the pre-clear script when adding a new drive to an already parity protected system is that the parity would not be effected by a drive with all zeros. So if this is true and parity is not used then there should be no reason to run pre-clear (other than testing the drive for potential issues). If parity is turned on then why couldn’t a new drive (without being cleared to all zeros) be added if you run a new parity check right after adding? Seems like this might be faster then pre-clearing? Not sure what I am missing or if my initial install was not done correctly (although it seems to be working for the most part.)

Thanks,

Chuck

One in five new drives will fail the pre-clear. Those failing drive will fail shortly if no pre-clear is done. The odds are against your build being successful. You should pre-clear all new drives even those used in other systems.

Adding data without a parity disk in place means that you have no idea whether the data can be read back. This is asking for trouble.

UnRAID will not allow a drive that has not be clear be added to an array with parity in place. A parity check is not the same as generating parity. Generating parity will take as long as a clear.