Using unRAID for primary file storage server - recommended?

Loosley

I read through the 'how do you use unRAID' thread, and it seems like most people are using it for a media streaming server.  I'm new to unRAID, and I'm planning on using my server as my primary media storage (photos and HD videos of family) as well as for file storage for work documents.  The unRAID server will be backed up to another PC (but unRAID will be the 'primary' source for the files).

I am currently using unRAID 5.0beta13 since the Intel 82579 LAN controller on my mobo (Asus P8Z68-V PRO) does not work on v4.7, but I have a concern with using a non-stable release for storing important files.  I guess my concern is: what if unRAID (silently) corrupts my files?  My backups of the unRAID server would consequently be corrupted as well (since the unRAID server is the primary source of the data).  Is this a valid or likely concern?  Has this happened in the past?

When is a stable 5.0 release expected?

I read through the 'how do you use unRAID' thread, and it seems like most people are using it for a media streaming server.  I'm new to unRAID, and I'm planning on using my server as my primary media storage (photos and HD videos of family) as well as for file storage for work documents.  The unRAID server will be backed up to another PC (but unRAID will be the 'primary' source for the files).

I am currently using unRAID 5.0beta13 since the Intel 82579 LAN controller on my mobo (Asus P8Z68-V PRO) does not work on v4.7, but I have a concern with using a non-stable release for storing important files.  I guess my concern is: what if unRAID (silently) corrupts my files?  My backups of the unRAID server would consequently be corrupted as well (since the unRAID server is the primary source of the data).  Is this a valid or likely concern?  Has this happened in the past?

There is nothing wrong with that use.