We're Hiring! Full Stack Developer ×

Preparing for First Build - One Big Question

boy914

Greetings,

First, let me say that this forum is fantastic. I've spent a few days reading through the unRAID manuals (official and unofficial), selecting and ordering components (using Raj's build as a starting point), and laying out a share/split structure that I believe will work well for my needs. My goal is to use unRAID for two very common scenarios: media storage + PVR (Sickbeard, Couch Potato, etc) and computer backup storage. I'm a software developer with zero Linux experience, but I've found everything here very easy to follow and I can't wait to get started.

Here's the Big Question: 4.7 or the latest 5.x beta?

My considerations:

• I was planning on 4.7, until I started reading about Time Machine issues. We've already had to restore my wife's MacBook from backup once after a hard drive failure (via the WD USB drive we're using today), and from what I can tell, backing up to SMB is tricky but doable, but I'm not convinced that restoring from SMB is going to work.
  • All of my "must have" data (documents, pictures, etc) is already backed up to The Cloud, so while it would be a major pain to lose everything to a beta software failure, it wouldn't be the end of the world
  • I only have 3 drives available right now, and with prices what they are, I don't plan on buying more until I can get a good 2TB drive for under $100. I'm not sure how the AFP implementation in 5.x works, but if it requires a dedicated drive, I'll take my chances with SMB and stick with 4.7.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Rick

Oh, and if anyone cares:

• ZOTAC GF6100-E-E w/ Sempron 145, 2GB Kingston, CORSAIR CX500 ($110 after rebates for everything!)
  • (2) 1TB + (1) 500GB drives - Unsure about models, etc. Once prices come down, they'll be replaced with shiny new ones.
  • Random spare PC case

if you don't have any 2TB+ drives 4.7 is the latest stable Production version