Is GigEthernet necessary for my planned unRaid configuration?

WannaTheater

... I realized this should have been in Hardware section, not Motherboards

Hi all,

I am new to the world of NAS and unRaid, but learning from this forum.  I currently have a 3.4G P4 HTPC which I run Zoomplayer for Video, and WinAMP for audio.  Currently I have a small subset of movies stored on an internal 250G SATA drive.  Movies are stored as original files (VIDEO_TS.IFO, etc).  I also have some AVIs stored on en external USB drive. 

I am now at the point of building an unRaid NAS device (about 4-5TB), as this looks like a great solution.  But before I commit, I have several questions:

1) My current network is only 100Mbps (wired-Linksys Router WRT54G).  Will this be a bandwith problem while playing a movie on HTPC, which is physically stored on remote unRaid system?  Only 1 HTPC will be accessing this array at a time (for movie playback)

2) I also run WinAMP on my HTPC.... sometimes 3 instances.  Would 100Mbps Ethernet be a bottleneck for this scenario (3 instances of winamp and 1 instance of Zoomplayer) all accessing data on the unRaid system? 

3) What is the best way to get all my movies on unRaid server? (I am unsure of any file operations/management with unRaid).  My thought would be to copy each movie from DVD to HTPC drive, then move to unRaid array (assuming that Windows explorer sees the unRaid discs - I'm running WinXP Pro SP2)  but this seems like it could take double the time for the 100s of DVDs I have (extra time for move across ethernet).  Any better way, local to unRaid?  Even if I have to purchase a few DVD drives...

4) If the parity drive crashes, can it be reconstructed?

5) Are individual sleeves with fans necessary for each drive?  My system will not be on 24/7 - more like 4 hours per evening.  (This adds a substantial cost to the build: $30 x 12 = $360 bucks) 

Thank you!

... I realized this should have been in Hardware section, not Motherboards

Hi all,