Parity correction 10mb, reads 140mb/sec?

petebnas

I just rebuilt my array...and when I switched hardware, I pulled two empty drives as well.  Now it's running through a parity correction at 11mb/sec and estimating about 7 days to complete...so it's just racking up the 'corrections', instead of just writing out parity.  Trying to figure out if I'm looking at the norm, or a problem to solve...or a problem I created, as I don't recall a 'sync errors corrected' counter racking up like this.  Currently running v6beta14b.

I've been doing parity checks for a couple years now and they usually just fly along...but in thinking back, it was mainly doing reads, not doing corrections (writes).  In the past I was preclearing drives and adding...or perhaps rebuilding a drive, but I don't recall any step being this slow.  I ran the tunables-tester script on the new system and was getting 85 MB/s timings in the testing portion...which I believe just tests against a 'parity read/verification' operation, so I made some adjustments.  I also killed off unmenu, just to be safe.  I have the unraid stock gui set so it won't update automatically, which was another performance tweak I read in a few places. 

Currently running a trio of 6TB drives, a pair of 4TB, and a pair of 3TB... with the parity and three other drives coming of my motherboard, the three other drives attached to a Supermicro SAS2LP connected x4.  All the drives are showing 6G connections, no errors are popping up...

Any other ideas? 

Pete

I may have solved my own issue...just in case someone else runs into this later..