newbie - rackmountable server advice

junglism

Hi All,

cant believe i just found out about this product!

Ok, briefly, i'm a network admin for a small firm in the UK. I'm after some cheap storage to build a virtual test environment with vmware workstation/esx

Now the newbie bit is that i've never built a pc from scratch before.. and the idea of spending lots of company money and not getting it working scares me a little...  so i'm wondering if i'm better off buying prebuilt, or putting it together myself?....

I'm after 6TB of storage, expandable if possible, and rackmounting is necessary. max budget is about us$2600.

Have searched the forum but cant find much about rackmounted stuff - thought i'd have a lot higher probability of success if i purchased a setup someone selse had already built.

I've got about 1yrs experience mucking around with ubuntu server so the software side should be manageable.

appreciate any help

The norco cases are available from xcase.co.uk including the 20 bay.

20 bay £299.00 + VAT plus delivery or the X-Case RM 208 V2, Mini SAS, 8 Hotswap caddy. No Psu. for £139.00.

If you are using unRAID as a windows file server or to backup VMWare images it would be perfect. VMWare workstation unRAID is again perfect.

For VMWare ESX storage you need a NFS server or preferably iSCSI capable NAS.

If you are happy to replace a PSU, a HDD and a NIC in an existing PC you can build a new PC. It is fairly straight forward. 

With rackmount installs there are three basic types and the two cases above both support vertical cards - 8 bay one support half height cards (any add-on cards will need to be half height cards). Think NIC/SATA or Video cards (if you go for this board get an integrated video board 1/2 height video card are few and far between).

The 20 bay Norco takes vertical cards also, but full height cards means virtually any card will be OK.