Migration and Upgrade Wisdom

storagehound

*If there is a better place for me to post this please feel free to let me know.*  ;D

Hello Everyone,

I am an UnRaid newbie.  I bought the suggested Budget Build (thanks, Raj).  I am trying UnRaid 4.5.4 with the evaluation copy running 3 2TB Western Digital Green drives (with jumpers on).  I created 3 shares.  VIDEO.  AUDIO and BACKUP.  Backup will contain data from my PC and default images.  If I've read the forum and FAQ correctly I wan the shares set at Level 1.

I want to start populating the UnRaid with data I have on USB Hard drives.  There is no backup of this data and I figure it is a good way to start.  Here are my questions:

Is there a way to do this by connecting the USB Drives directly to the UnRaid?

If possible, is there a disadvantage to doing this over USB as opposed to the network?

Once I am done with the USB Drives I would like to move on to my ReadyNas and Buffalo Terrastations.  Can I do the copying from those NAS systems via the UnRaid console?  Essentially I am trying to take my PC out of the equation since this data copy will likely take some time.

One last thing.  Any advice for when I go from the free version of UnRaid to Paid?  If I like this solution I can easily see myself moving in that direction and adding more drive.s

Any advice is appreciated. 

Oh, if this is well documented please tell me how you found it.  I have found a LOT of good stuff but don't recall seeing a process that clearly identifies doing these steps.

Thank You  :)

You are welcome, I'm glad you found the recommended builds section of the wiki helpful.

I believe unMenu will allow you to mount USB externals onto your unRAID server.  You will then need to initiate the transfer by command line on the system console if you don't want to leave your desktop on the whole time.  The advantage is speed, the disadvantage is hassle.