Another Kiwi Build

flambot

Hello my fellow UnRaidians (well I hope to be soon if things work out) :)

After many years of dreaming about a HD-based media system, I have finally decided it's time to take the plunge.  I have limited experience with such things - been over 7 years since I last played with a puter-inards, but I'm enjoying myself having a go.  I started an XBMC thread over at AVS forum here - new to the XBMC scene as well (fairly long in the tooth ;) ) but as we all know, dreams don't manifest unless we take action at some level.

I brought a server type case today, so hopefully it will do the job  - should hold 14 drives.

ServerCase.jpg

After reading another thread on this site, I thought I'd look at the P5B-E MB - link

I plan on using 4x500Gb SATA drives to start (not sure if the free version allows 1xparity +3xdata...OR...1xparity +2xdata), but if things work out then a migration to a licensed version, aiming at about 5Tb over time.  Hopefully I can get the hardware together in the next couple of weeks.

Question:  How many of you leave your servers on all the time?  Are there issues with shutting them down/starting up all the time? Is there such a thing as auto startup/shutdown on a puter?

Still reading and researching a lot of stuff and hope to get more answers from this site.

As this is my first post, I thought I would share the background of my ambitions, and what I'd like to achieve.  I'm certainly hoping UnRAID will help me get there...and by the way, if the thread heading didn't give it away I'm a New Zealander.

Looking for some further advice.

What CPU should I use for this MB?  (How much does the CPU speed make a difference)

Any specific type of RAM?

Am I correct in that this board needs a graphics card? (If you need a monitor)

Is there a manual for setting this all up?

Thx :)

Flambot,

First, nice looking case!

Now, let me try these questions one at a time...