Unraid, Cache, and Windows 10 VMs | Best Practices?

Nickatlm

Hello all,

Forgive my ignorance, I'm new to unraid.

I'm working on testing a proof of concept setup, I'm trying to run a Windows 10  VM in Unraid 6.4.1 on a Storinator Q30. The goal is to run camera system software on the VM and have it store all the footage on a large virtual disk stored on the array.

What is the optimal way to configure 10x 12TB Western Digital Gold HDDs and 1x 128GB SSD to support a VM that will potentially have 1Gbps of traffic flowing into it 24/7

The array is set up to use 2 of the 10 drives for parity. I added the SSD as a cache drive and I set up a share on the array. I set the "Use Cache Disk" to "Yes". I installed the VM on a 50GB virtual disk and attached a larger 20TB virtual disk as well. The virtual disks were placed on the share I created earlier. I installed the camera system software and set up 1 camera on it.

Everything ran fine for a few days until the VM started pausing intermittently and I've been unable to figure out how to stop it from happening. From what I've read its probably caused by either power settings on the VM or its related to my cache disk being full.

I've changed power settings on the VM to "High Performance" and "never sleep" and set the "Use Cache Disk" setting on the share to "No". I also removed the installation .iso and virtio.iso from the VM since the are located in shares on the cache disk (by default).

I'm guessing the virtual disks are still being cached because changing the "Use Cache Disk" setting  to "No" only affects new files.

Also:

The array is fast and according to the speed tests I've done its more than capable of receiving that much incoming traffic but what about the cache disk? Won't pushing that kind of traffic through a single SSD burn it out quickly? Should I even be using a cache drive?

Any input is welcome. 

Thanks,

lmc-arc-01-diagnostics-20180404-1117.zip