Sata III Controller Card + Mobo Compatibility Question

Endda

Hi,

So I have been building up my unRAID machine for a few years now and have loaded up my computer with hard drives. After loading them up with 4TB drives, I have begun switching them out with 8TB drives but I have also added a couple of controller cards as well.

This is the motherboard I am currently using. .  .

- https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131979

. . .with a 450w power supply. . .

- https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139052

I have one cache drive for quick downloads that get moved over to the 11 hard drives I have installed (the 12th drive is the parity drive). They were all 4TB to start with but I now have three different 8TB drives in there (the fourth 8TB drive is used as parity). To accomplish this, I have had to use these two controller cards. . .

- https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00AZ9T3OU/

. . .but two ports on one of those controller cards do not currently work. So I'm only able to use 6 of the 8 SATA III ports that these cards are offering me. I assume this is due to the card being bad (but maybe it's because of the slot placement of the cards?

I have the machine connected to a UPS and usually see it hit about 200 or 250 watts during load. it's at idle right now and only pulling 84 watts. So when I try to add another hard drive to that controller card, I don't think it's the PSU that is limiting it. Again, I think it's just half of the card that is bad.

So, I have been wanting to add another controller card to the motherboard, but instead of going with another 4-slot one, I was thinking about this one. . .

- https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00ESFEI2E/